VEHICLE INTERLOCK SYSTEMS
Approved By The National Highway Safety Administration
Welcome To Our Interlock Section Of Our Website
Sonic Sounds is the longest running vehicle interlock system installer in Northeastern Pennsylvania. Our company works with court systems to ensure offenders have access to the leading interlock programs in the region. We have proudly worked with individuals from Lackawanna, Wyoming, Wayne, Susquehanna, Bradford and Luzerne counties.
What is an Ignition Interlock?
An ignition interlock is a breathalyzer that prevents the vehicle from starting.
When the driver blows into the handset, an alcohol specific sensor analyzes the breath sample and calculates the Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC). The engine can only be started if the BrAC is below the designated limit.
The ignition interlock programs are for people who have received a DUI/DWI. It is required for drivers who want to keep their licenses. Program participants need to install Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) in any vehicle that they drive. To install an ignition interlock, participants of this program need to register with an approved ignition interlock service provider. Program participants will also be required to meet with their service providers on a regular basis. The steps and length of the program changes from state to state.
LEARN ABOUT PENNSYLVANIA’S LAWS
State Laws – Pennsylvania
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||No minimum jail time required||No||1 year license suspension||$300||Yes, if refusal to take chemical test|
|2nd Offense||5 days to 6 months||12 months||18 month license suspension||$300 to $2,500||Yes, during period of restricted license|
|3rd Offense||10 days to 2 years||12 months||18 month license suspension||$500 to $10,000||Yes, during period of restricted license|
|Under 21||BAC of 0.02% or higher|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
* If one has committed a DUI offense in Pennsylvania, he/she will need to apply for an Occupational Limited License (OLL) as well as submit the following to the Pennsylvania department of Transportation:
- DL-15 form for OLL petition and associated application fees.
- Proof of insurance.
- Serve jail time from 5 days to 5 years (does not apply to 1st DUI offense).
- Pay DUI fines ranging from $300 to $10,000 depending on prior DUI offenses.
- Pay restoration fees (does not apply to 1st DUI offense).
- Proof of participating in the alcohol treatment program, if ordered by the court.
- Complete the requirements outlined by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (does not apply to 1st DUI offense).
- Fax DL-21 form to the ignition interlock department (does not apply to 1st DUI offense).
- Install an ignition interlock device from a Pennsylvania state approved provider (does not apply to 1st DUI offense).
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact the PA DUI Association.
Disclaimer: While we try to keep information up to date and relevant on our website, we recognize that there are other factors that can affect the way laws will apply to individual cases. Always consult with your attorney, local courts, judges and district attorneys for all relevant legal information.